
  
 

 
                 

 
 

 
 
 
 

  
 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 
 

  

STATE OF CALIFORNIA--HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES AGENCY	 EDMUND G. BROWN JR., Governor 

DEPARTMENT OF DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 
1600 NINTH STREET, Room 340, MS 3-24        

 SACRAMENTO, CA 95814 
TDD 654-2054 (For the Hearing Impaired) 
(916) 654-2716 

August 22, 2011 

TO: 	 REGIONAL CENTER EXECUTIVE DIRECTORS 

REGIONAL CENTER ADMINISTRATORS 


SUBJECT:	 ANNUAL FAMILY PROGRAM FEE IMPLEMENTATION 

This program advisory transmits to regional centers the implementation requirements 
for the Annual Family Program Fee, which became effective July 1, 2011.  The 
Department is working with regional centers to establish an integrated tracking solution 
for the exchange of information associated with this program. 

In the interim, regional centers should implement the process and maintain information 
locally. Department staff will transmit an excel file monthly to each regional center 
displaying fees collected during the month.  Forms necessary for the program 
implementation will be available in English and Spanish on the Department website 
www.dds.ca.gov. Department staff will provide Spanish versions as soon as they are 
available. 

If you have any questions regarding this new program, please contact  

Dean Shellenberger at (916) 654-3355. 


Sincerely, 

Original signed by 

KARYN MEYRELES 

Deputy Director 

Administration Division
 

Enclosures 

cc: 	Robert Baldo, Executive Director, ARCA 

       Rita Walker, Deputy Director, DDS 

       Julia Mullen, Deputy Director, DDS 

       Beverly Humphrey, Deputy Director, DDS 


"Building Partnerships, Supporting Choices" 

http://www.dds.ca.gov/
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Annual Family Program Fee Procedures 

I. Overview 

This document provides policies and procedures for the Annual Family Program 
Fee (AFPF) to be assessed to families of children between the ages of 0-17 
receiving qualifying services through a regional center.  This program became 
effective July 1, 2011 as required by Welfare & Institutions Code (WIC) Section 
4785. This code reads in part: 

(a) (1) Effective July 1, 2011, a regional center shall assess an annual 
family program fee, as described in subdivision (b), from parents whose adjusted 
gross family income is at or above 400 percent of the federal poverty level based 
upon family size and who have a child to whom all of the following apply: 

(A) The child has a developmental disability or is eligible for services 
under the California Early Intervention Services Act (Title 14 (commencing with 
Section 95000) of the Government Code). 

(B) The child is less than 18 years of age. 
(C) The child lives with his or her parent. 
(D) The child or family receives services beyond eligibility determination, 

needs assessment, and service coordination. 
(E) The child does not receive services through the Medi-Cal program. 
(2) An AFPF fee shall not be assessed or collected pursuant to this 

section if the child receives only respite, day care, or camping services from the 
regional center, and a cost for participation is assessed to the parents under the 
Family Cost Participation Program.   

Additional language within this section requires that a single AFPF be assessed 
per family, regardless of the number of children in the family with developmental 
disabilities or who are eligible for service under the California Early Intervention 
Service Act. 

A copy of the full text of this statute (appendix A) and a chart of key elements of 
the fee assessment process (appendix B) is attached.   

Services shall not be delayed or denied for a consumer or child based upon the 
lack of payment of the AFPF. 
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II. 	Required Program Components for Regional Centers 

A. Regional center shall, at the time of intake or at the time of development, 
scheduled review, or modification of a consumer’s Individual Program Plan 
(IPP) or Individualized Family Services Plan (IFSP), but no later than June 30, 
2012, initially assess the $200 AFPF when all of the criteria in WIC Section 
4785(a)(1)(A)-(E) is met. Regional center shall provide parents a remittance 
form (appendix C, DDS form DS6010) and an envelope for the mailing of the 
$200 AFPF to the Department of Developmental Services (Department or 
DDS). The remittance form will be available for downloading from the DDS 
website by the regional centers. The form is designed to fit in a standard 
business size window envelope to be provided to the family. The envelope 
should have a blank return address for the family to complete before mailing 
their AFPF to the Department. The regional center must fill in the shaded 
areas of the form and include the names of the children in the family currently 
being served by a regional center and their unique client identifiers (UCI). 
This is a two sided form and must be printed duplex. 

B.  To comply with requirements contained in WIC Section 4785 (e), which 
provides for collection by DDS after regional center has exhausted its efforts, 
regional centers shall complete the AFPF registration form (appendix D, DDS 
form DS6009) with parents at the time of the consumer’s IPP or IFSP.   

C. Upon request from the parents, regional centers shall review, and when 
applicable, adjust the family’s fee assessment if it is demonstrated that the 
adjusted gross family income is less than 800 percent of the federal poverty 
level (FPL). Families shall provide the regional center with records to show 
their total adjusted gross family income as defined in WIC Section 4785 (j) 
(1). See appendix E for the 2011 FPLs that must be used to determine the 
fee. If the parents’ income is determined to be below 800 percent of the 
current year FPL, the regional center shall adjust the annual family fee to 
$150.00. If the parents’ adjusted gross family income is below 400 percent of 
the current year FPL, the family shall not be assessed the AFPF.  In 
accordance with Section 4785 (j) (1) & (2) the regional center’s review of the 
parent’s income information shall consider the following: 

	 The total adjusted gross family income shall be determined by adding the 
gross income of both parents, regardless of whether they are divorced or 
legally separated, unless a court order directs otherwise, or unless the 
custodial parent certifies in writing that the income information from the 
noncustodial parent cannot be obtained from the noncustodial parent and 
in this circumstance only the income of the custodial parent shall be used 
to determine the AFPF. 
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	 Total adjusted gross family income means income acquired, earned, or 
received by parents as payment for labor or services, support, gift or 
inheritance, or parents’ return on investments.  It also includes the 
community property interest of a parent in the gross adjusted income of a 
stepparent. This is accomplished by including 50 percent of the 
stepparents’ adjusted gross income in the calculation of the natural 
parents’ incomes. 

	 “Parent(s)”, for the purpose of assessment of a fee, means the parents, 
whether natural, adoptive, or both, of a child with developmental disability 
under 18 years of age. 

The regional center shall track and record each fee assessment and 
adjustment made pursuant to this section for the purpose of reporting to the 
Department. 

In any instance in which the family disagrees with the fee amount assessed 
by the regional center, appropriate notification must be given pursuant to 
Government Code Section 95007 or WIC Section 4700 et seq. Regional 
center shall suspend fee assessment efforts if a fair hearing is requested by 
parents. Pending outcome of the hearing, fee assessment may be resumed.  
Regional centers shall provide the Department with notification when a parent 
has requested a fair hearing after the account has been referred to DDS for 
collection. The regional center shall also provide the Department with the 
result of the hearing once the outcome is known. 

D. Under WIC Section 4785 subdivision (f), the regional center may grant an 
exemption to the assessment of an annual family program fee if the parents 
demonstrate any of the following: 

	 That the exemption is necessary to maintain the child in the family     
home. 

	 The existence of an extraordinary event that impacts the parents’ ability to 
pay the fee or the parents’ ability to meet the care and supervision needs 
of the child. 

	 The existence of a catastrophic loss that temporarily limits the ability of the 
parents to pay and creates a direct economic impact on the family.  For 
purposes of this paragraph, catastrophic loss may include, but is not 
limited to, natural disasters, accidents involving, or major injuries to, an 
immediate family member, and extraordinary medical expenses. 
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In any instance in which the regional center denies a family’s request for an 
exemption, appropriate notification must be given pursuant to Government 
Code Section 95007 or WIC Section 4700 et. seq. Regional center shall 
suspend fee assessment efforts if a fair hearing is requested by parents.  
Pending outcome of the hearing, fee assessment may be resumed.  Regional 
center shall provide the Department with notification if a parent has requested 
a fair hearing after the account has been referred to DDS for collection.  The 
regional center shall also provide the Department with the result of the 
hearing once the outcome is known. 

The regional center shall track and record each exemption granted or denied 
pursuant to this section for the purpose of reporting to the Department. 

E. The Department shall report to each regional center monthly the AFPF 
payments, by family, that have been received by the department.  The 
regional center shall, within 30 days after receipt of the Department’s 
payment report: 

	 Identify those parents whose assessment date is greater than 30 days 
from the date of the report and determine if the AFPF has been collected. 

	 Provide a second written notification (appendix G, DS6011) to the parents 
from whom payment has not been received and to whom a second notice 
has not already been sent. This is a two-sided form and must be printed in 
duplex. The date of this second written notice should be recorded for 
purpose of collection. 

	 Identify those parents whose second written notice date is greater than 30 
days from the date of the report for notification to DDS.  

Regional centers shall notify the Department of any family fee account that 
remains unpaid no later than 60 days from the date of the regional center’s 
second written notification to the parents.  Notification to the Department of 
any unpaid account shall include a copy of the completed AFPF Registration 
form (appendix D, DS6009). The Registration form will indicate the fee 
amount that is being referred to DDS for collection.   
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F.  If, after the account has been referred to DDS, a parent files for a fair 
hearing or the regional center reduces the amount of the original referral to 
$150 or $0, the regional center will promptly notify DDS.  Notification is to be 
a copy of the original AFPF registration form that clearly identifies either a 
change in the amount of the fee as revised by the regional center, or notice 
that the family has filed for a Fair Hearing and collection is to be suspended 
pending the outcome of the hearing. If collection is suspended due to the 
filing for a fair hearing, the regional center shall also provide the Department 
with the result of the hearing once the outcome is known.  

G.  Annually, on the anniversary of initial fee assessment, the regional center 
shall re-determine parents’ eligibility for participation in the AFPF, assess the 
appropriate fee based on family size and income for the current year, and 
provide the family with a remittance form indicating the new fee and an 
envelope. 
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SUMMARY 


REGIONAL CENTER RESPONSIBILITIES  

	 Regional centers shall respond to questions or disputes from families 
regarding fee eligibility and assessment. 

	 The AFPF shall be initially assessed by a regional center at the time of the 
development, scheduled review, or modification of the IPP or IFSP, but no 
later than June 30, 2012, and annually thereafter. 

	 Regional centers shall assess an AFPF in the amount of $200 to parents 
of a child to whom the eligibility criteria apply.  The fee amount can be 
reduced to $150 when the parents demonstrate an adjusted gross income 
of less than 800% of the FPL based on their family size; or reduced to $0 
when the parents demonstrate an adjusted gross income of less than 
400% FPL. 

	 Regional centers shall provide a remittance form (DS6010) and a standard 
business size window envelope with a blank return address for the family 
to complete when mailing their AFPF to the Department. The DS6010 
form can be completed on line and then printed, or can be printed and 
then completed by hand. In either case, the form must be printed duplex 
(two sided) so that all of the information that is needed by DDS is included 
on the portion of the remittance form that is returned by the family with 
their payment. 

	 Regional centers shall provide a written notification (DS6011) to parents 
from whom payment has not been received.  Regional centers shall notify 
the Department if a family receiving notification has failed to pay its AFPF 
based upon the subsequent (second) notice. The DS6011 form can also 
be completed on line, or printed and then completed.  This form also must 
be printed duplex (two sided). 

	 Regional centers may grant an exemption to the assessment of an AFPF 
if the parents demonstrate a hardship as described in WIC Section 4785. 

	 Regional centers will promptly advise DDS when, after referring a family to 
DDS for collection, the family files for a fair hearing or the regional center 
adjusts the fee amount referred for collection.  The regional center shall 
also provide the Department with the result of the hearing once the 
outcome is known. 
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	 Regional centers services shall not be delayed or denied for a consumer 
or child based upon the last of payment of the AFPF. 

	 Regional centers shall track AFPF assessments, adjustments, and 

exemptions granted or denied. 


DEPARTMENT OF DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES RESPONSIBILITIES 

	 The Department shall provide the regional center with the payment form 
(DS6010), a second notice payment form (DS6011), and a program 
registration form (DS6009) in English and Spanish that the regional center 
can download from the DDS website for use in administering this program.   

	 The Department shall notify each regional center on a monthly basis of the 
AFPF collected. 

	 The Department will provide an annual update of the Federal Poverty 
Level when it becomes available, but not later than April 1st. 

	 Upon notification from the regional center, the Department shall pursue 
collection of the AFPF if the family has not paid after the second regional 
center notice. 

Page 8 of 8 



 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Appendix A 

CALIFORNIA CODES 
WELFARE AND INSTITUTIONS CODE 
SECTION 4785 
CHAPTER 37 
STATUTE OF 2011 

4785. (a) (1) Effective July 1, 2011, a regional center shall 
assess an annual family program fee, as described in subdivision (b), 
from parents whose adjusted gross family income is at or above 400 
percent of the federal poverty level based upon family size and who 
have a child to whom all of the following apply: 

(A) The child has a developmental disability or is eligible for 
services under the California Early Intervention Services Act (Title 
14 (commencing with Section 95000) of the Government Code). 

(B) The child is less than 18 years of age. 
(C) The child lives with his or her parent. 
(D) The child or family receives services beyond eligibility 

determination, needs assessment, and service coordination. 
(E) The child does not receive services through the Medi-Cal 

program. 
(2) An annual family program fee shall not be assessed or 

collected pursuant to this section if the child receives only 
respite, day care, or camping services from the regional center, and 
a cost for participation is assessed to the parents under the Family 
Cost Participation Program. 

(3) The annual family program fee shall be initially assessed by a 
regional center at the time of the development, scheduled review, or 
modification of the individual program plan (IPP) pursuant to 
Sections 4646 and 4646.5, or the individualized family services plan 
(IFSP) pursuant to Section 95020 of the Government Code, but no later 
than June 30, 2012, and annually thereafter. 

(4) Application of this section to children zero through two years 
of age, inclusive, shall be contingent upon necessary approval by 
the United States Department of Education. 

(b) (1) The annual family program fee for parents described in 
paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) shall be two hundred dollars ($200) 
per family, regardless of the number of children in the family with 
developmental disabilities or who are eligible for services under the 
California Early Intervention Services Act. 

(2) Notwithstanding paragraph (1), parents described in paragraph 
(1) of subdivision (a) who demonstrate to the regional center that 
their adjusted gross family income is less than 800 percent of the 
federal poverty level shall be required to pay an annual family 
program fee of one hundred fifty dollars ($150) per family, 
regardless of the number of children in the family with developmental 
disabilities or who are eligible for services under the California 
Early Intervention Services Act. 

(c) At the time of intake or at the time of development, scheduled 
review, or modification of a consumer's IPP or IFSP, but no later 
than June 30, 2012, the regional center shall provide to parents 
described in paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) a form and an envelope 
for the mailing of the annual family program fee to the department. 
The form, which shall include the name of the children in the family 
currently being served by a regional center and their unique client 
identifiers, shall be sent, with the family's annual program fee, to 
the department. 

(d) The department shall notify each regional center at least 
quarterly of the annual family program fees collected. 
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 (e) The regional center shall, within 30 days after notification 
from the department pursuant to subdivision (d), provide a written 
notification to the parents from whom the department has not received 
the annual family program fees. Regional centers shall notify the 
department if a family receiving notification pursuant to this 
section has failed to pay its annual family program fees based on the 
subsequent notice pursuant to subdivision (d). For these families, 
the department shall pursue collection pursuant to the Accounts 
Receivable Management Act (Chapter 4.3 (commencing with Section 
16580) of Part 2 of Division 4 of Title 2 of the Government Code). 

(f) A regional center may grant an exemption to the assessment of 
an annual family program fee if the parents demonstrate any of the 
following: 

(1) That the exemption is necessary to maintain the child in the 
family home. 

(2) The existence of an extraordinary event that impacts the 
parents' ability to pay the fee or the parents' ability to meet the 
care and supervision needs of the child.
 (3) The existence of a catastrophic loss that temporarily limits 

the ability of the parents to pay and creates a direct economic 
impact on the family. For purposes of this paragraph, catastrophic 
loss may include, but is not limited to, natural disasters, accidents 
involving, or major injuries to, an immediate family member, and 
extraordinary medical expenses. 

(g) Services shall not be delayed or denied for a consumer or 
child based upon the lack of payment of the annual family program 
fee. 

(h) For purposes of this section, "parents" means the parents, 
whether natural, adoptive, or both, of a child with developmental 
disabilities under 18 years of age. 

(i) Parents described in paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) shall be 
jointly and severally responsible for the annual family program fee, 
unless a court order directs otherwise. 

(j) (1) "Total adjusted gross family income" means income 
acquired, earned, or received by parents as payment for labor or 
services, support, gift, or inheritance, or parents' return on 
investments. It also includes the community property interest of a 
parent in the gross adjusted income of a stepparent. 

(2) The total adjusted gross family income shall be determined by 
adding the gross income of both parents, regardless of whether they 
are divorced or legally separated, unless a court order directs 
otherwise, or unless the custodial parent certifies in writing that 
income information from the noncustodial parent cannot be obtained 
from the noncustodial parent and in this circumstance only the income 
of the custodial parent shall be used to determine the annual family 
program fee.
 (k) This section shall become inoperative on June 30, 2013, and as 

of January 1, 2014, is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, 
that becomes operative on or before June 30, 2013, deletes or extends 
the dates on which it becomes inoperative and is repealed. 
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Appendix B ‐ Annual Family Program Fee Decision Tree 
Does the child qualify for RC 

Noservices? Sec 4785 (a)(1)(A) 

Yes 

No 

Yes 

No 

Yes 

No 

Yes 
Yes 

No No Annual 
Family 
Program 
Fee is 
assessed. 

Yes 

No 

Yes 

No 
No 

Yes 

Does the child receive ONLY respite, day care, and/or 

camping services, AND is the family assessed a FCPP fee? 
Sec 4785 (a)(2) 

Is the family income at or above 400% 

of FPL? Sec 4785 (a) (1) 

Does the child have 
Medi‐Cal? Sec 4785 (a)(1)(E) 

Does the child have a sibling 
with a fee assessed in the last 
12 months? Sec 4785 (b) 

Does child receive services beyond 

eligibility determination, needs 

assessment, and service 

coordination? Sec 4785 (a)(1)(D) 

Does child live with his or her 

parent? Sec 4785 (a)(1)(C) 

Is child under age 18? 
Sec 4785 (a)(1)(B) 

No 

Yes 

$150 fee is 

assessed. 

Is family’s demonstrated 

income less than 800% of 

FPL? Sec 4785 (b)(2) 

$200 fee is 

assessed. Sec 
4785 (b)(1) 



State of California-Health and Human Services Agency  Department of Developmental Services 
ANNUAL FAMILY PROGRAM FEE 
PAYMENT FORM 
DS 6010 (08/2011) 

APPENDIX C 
 

Consumer’s Name RC # UCI # Fee Assessment 
Date 

Amount 
Paid 

     

(Please provide information on the back for other siblings receiving regional center services.) 
 

 
You have been assessed an Annual Family Program Fee of $_________ for services 
provided to your child.  This fee is authorized by state law (Welfare and Institutions 
Code Section 4785).   One fee is assessed per family regardless of the number of 
children receiving services.  It is a yearly fee.  The annual income amount used to set 
your fee depends on your family size.  Please refer to the chart on the reverse side of 
this form to determine your fee amount. 
 
If you think you should get a lower fee, talk to your regional center about the 
documentation necessary for them to determine if you may qualify for a lower fee. 
 
Welfare and Institutions Code Section 4710.5 provides parents with an opportunity to 
request a fair hearing if you disagree with your fee assessment.  If you wish to have 
your fee assessment reviewed under this statute, you must complete a Fair Hearing 
Request form within 30 days of the assessment date.  You may access this form 
through the regional center, or, through the department’s website www.dds.ca.gov, form 
number DS1805. 
 
Payment is due upon receipt of this notice.  Please include the bottom of this form when 
you mail your check or money order, made out to “DDS – Annual Family Program Fee”.  
So we can give you credit for the payment, please add the UCI and RC numbers shown 
above on your check or money order. 
 
If you have any questions regarding your fee, please contact your regional center. 
 
 
 
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
IMPORTANT:  DETACH AND RETURN THE BOTTOM PORTION OF THIS STATEMENT WITH YOUR PAYMENT TO ENSURE 
PROPER CREDIT 
 

Annual Family Program Fee - PAYMENT FORM 
 

Indicate Regional Center and UCI # on all inquiries and payments. 

Consumer’s Name RC # UCI # Fee Assessment 
Date 

Amount 
Paid 

     

(Please provide information on the back for other siblings receiving regional center services.) 
 (Confidential Consumer Information - see California Welfare and Institutions Code 4514) 

 
Mail to:  State of California 
  Department of Developmental Services 

 Annual Family Program Fee 
 Accounting Section, Room 310, MS 3-7 
 P. O. Box 944202 
 Sacramento, CA  94244-2020 

 
 

http://www.dds.ca.gov/


 
 
 

Each family with an AFPF eligible child or children receiving services through the 
regional center are assessed a single annual fee.  Please provide information below on 
other siblings receiving regional center services. 
 

Consumer’s Name RC # UCI # 

      

      

      

      

 
Families with annual incomes at or above 800 percent of the Federal Poverty Level 
(FPL) are assessed an annual fee of $200.00.  Families with incomes between 400 and 
799 percent of the FPL are assessed an annual fee of $150.00.  Families with incomes 
below 400 percent of the FPL are not assessed a fee.  Please use the chart below to 
estimate your fee amount based on family size and parents’ annual income.  If you think 
your income qualifies you for a lower fee please contact the regional center.   
 

FAMILY 
SIZE 

ANNUAL 
INCOME  FEE 

ANNUAL 
INCOME FEE 

ANNUAL 
INCOME FEE 

2 $0 -$58,839 $0.00 $58,840 - $117,679 $150.00 $117,680 - Over $200.00 

3 $0 - $74,119 $0.00 $74,120 - $148,239 $150.00 $148,240 - Over $200.00 

4 $0 - $89,399 $0.00 $89,400 - $178,799 $150.00 $178,800 - Over $200.00 

5 $0 - $104,679 $0.00 $104,680 - $209,359 $150.00 $209,360 - Over $200.00 

6 $0 - $119,959 $0.00 $119,960 - $239,919 $150.00 $239,920 - Over $200.00 

For family size larger than above see DDS website:  www.dds.ca.gov 
 

 
 
 
 
Please provide information below on other siblings receiving regional center services. 
 

Consumer’s Name RC # UCI # 

      

      

      

      

 
 
 

 

http://www.dds.ca.gov/


Employer Employer 

 
State of California-Health and Human Services Agency     Department of Developmental Services 
ANNUAL FAMILY PROGRAM FEE 
REGISTRATION FORM 
DS 6009 (08/2011)        APPENDIX D 

 
                           
Welfare and Institutions Code Section 4785 requires parents of qualifying children under  
18 years of age to pay an annual family program fee based on adjusted gross family income.  
 
Assessed Amount $ ___________   Assessment Date:  ______________ 
 
Please complete the following information. 
 
Consumer Name(s) RC # UCI # Date of Birth 

    

    

    

 
 

 
PARENT - 1 

 
PARENT - 2 

Social Security Number -  Social Security Number -  

    Name                                            
First      __________________     MI ________ 
Last  _________________________________ 
Date of Birth   _______________ 
 

    Name                                            
First      __________________     MI ________ 
Last  _________________________________ 
Date of Birth   _______________ 

    Address 
Street   ______________________________ 
City      _____________________  State _____ 
Zip       _____________________ 

    Address 
Street   ______________________________ 
City      _____________________  State _____ 
Zip       _____________________ 
 

    Phone Numbers 
Home   _______________________________ 
Work    _______________________________ 
Cell      _______________________________ 
Email   _______________________________ 
   

    Phone Numbers 
Home   ______________________________ 
Work    ______________________________ 
Cell      ______________________________ 
Email   ______________________________ 

 
 

 
Name _______________________________ 
Street _______________________________ 
City   _____________________  State _____ 
Zip    _______  Phone # _________________ 

 
Name _______________________________ 
Street _______________________________ 
City   _____________________  State _____ 
Zip    _______  Phone # _________________ 
 

 
________________________________________      _____________________________________ 
Parent 1 – Signature                           Date  Parent 2 – Signature              Date  
 
(CONFIDENTIAL CONSUMER INFORMATION - see California Welfare and Institutions Code 4514) 
 



Appendix E
 

ANNUAL FAMILY PROGRAM FEE - SCHEDULE
 
Effective July 1, 2011


This document illustrates the Federal Poverty Level effective January 2011, which should be used for 
assessments of the Annual Family Program Fee. 

Number of Persons Living In The Family Home 
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  

$58,840 $74,120 $89,400 $104,680 $119,960 $135,240 $150,520 $165,800 $181,080 
$117,680 $148,240 $178,800 $209,360 $239,920 $270,480 $301,040 $331,600 $362,160 

FPL % 
400% 
800% 

FPL 
2011 $14,710 $18,530 $22,350 $26,170 $29,990 $33,810 $37,630 $41,450 $45,270 



 360 - FRANK D. LANTERMAN REGIONAL CENTER
 
ANNUAL FAMILY PROGRAM FEE
 

FY 2011/2012
 

Appendix F
 

RC 
Primary 

UCI # 
Secondary 

UCI # 
Secondary 

UCI # Last Name First Name 
Primary Consurmer Payment 

Amount 
Date 

Received 

1 360 6053370 6053371 6053372 O'Neal Travis $200 8/1/2011 

2 360 6096111 Grill Joshua $150 8/11/2011 

3 360 6085845 Luna Charles $150 8/29/2011 

4 360 6044047 6026454 Mc Donald Gale $200 9/5/2011 

5 360 6043470 Hernandez Maria $200 9/14/2011 

6 360 6095462 Thomas Jessie $150 9/22/2011 

7 360 6095768 Pina Fernando $200 9/22/2011 

8 360 6045834 6043764 6053099 Anderson Mary $200 9/28/2011 

9 360 

10 360 

11 360 

12 360 

13 360 

14 360 

15 360 

16 360 

17 360 

18 360 

19 360 

20 360 

21 360 

22 360 

23 360 

24 360 

25 360 

26 360 

27 360 

28 360 

29 360 

30 360 

31 360 

32 360 

33 360 

34 360 

35 360 

36 360 

37 360 

38 360 

39 360 

40 360 

41 360 

42 360 

43 360 

44 360 

45 360 

46 360

8/19/2011 
1 



State of California-Health and Human Services Agency  Department of Developmental Services 
ANNUAL FAMILY PROGRAM FEE 
PAYMENT FORM – SECOND NOTICE 
DS 6011 (08/2011) 

APPENDIX G 
 

(Please provide information on the back for other siblings receiving regional center services.) 

 
State records do not show a payment for your Annual Family Program Fee. You have 
been assessed an Annual Family Program Fee of $ ________ for services provided to 
your child.  This fee is required by state law (Welfare and Institutions Code Section 
4785).   One fee is assessed per family regardless of the number of children receiving 
services.  It is a yearly fee.  The annual income amount used to set your fee depends 
on your family size.  Please refer to the chart on the reverse side of this form to 
determine your fee amount. 
 
If you think you should get a lower fee, talk to your regional center about the 
documentation necessary for them to determine if you may qualify for a lower fee. 
 
Welfare and Institutions Code Section 4710.5 provides parents with an opportunity to 
request a fair hearing if you disagree with your fee assessment.  If you wish to have 
your fee assessment reviewed under this statute, you must complete a Fair Hearing 
Request form within 30 days of the assessment date.  You may access this form 
through the regional center, or, through the department’s website www.dds.ca.gov, form 
number DS1805. 
 
Payment is due upon receipt of this notice.  Please include the bottom of this form when 
you mail your check or money order, made out to “DDS – Annual Family Program Fee”.  
So we can give you credit for the payment, please add the UCI and RC numbers shown 
above on your check or money order. 
 
If you have any questions regarding your fee, please contact your regional center. 
 
 
_____________________________________________________________________ 
IMPORTANT:  DETACH AND RETURN THE BOTTOM PORTION OF THIS STATEMENT WITH YOUR PAYMENT TO ENSURE 
PROPER CREDIT 
 

Annual Family Program Fee Payment Form 
SECOND NOTICE 

Indicate Regional Center and UCI # on all inquiries and payments. 

(Please provide information on the back for other siblings receiving regional center services.) 
(Confidential Consumer Information - see California Welfare and Institutions Code 4514) 

 
Mail to:  State of California 
  Department of Developmental Services 

 Annual Family Program Fee 
 Accounting Section, Room 310, MS 3-7 
 P. O. Box 944202 
 Sacramento, CA  94244-2020 

Consumer’s Name RC # UCI # 
Fee Assessment 

Date 
Amount 

Paid 
     

Consumer’s Name RC # UCI # 
Fee Assessment 

Date 
Amount Paid 

     

http://www.dds.ca.gov/


 
 
Each family with an AFPF eligible child or children receiving services through the 
regional center are assessed a single annual fee.  Please provide information below on 
other siblings receiving regional center services. 
 

Consumer’s Name RC # UCI # 

      

      

      

      

 
Families with annual incomes at or above 800 percent of the Federal Poverty Level 
(FPL) are assessed an annual fee of $200.00.  Families with incomes between 400 and 
799 percent of the FPL are assessed an annual fee of $150.00.  Families with incomes 
below 400 percent of the FPL are not assessed a fee.  Please use the chart below to 
estimate your fee amount based on family size and parents’ annual income.  If you think 
your income qualifies you for lower fee, please contact the regional center. 
 

FAMILY 
SIZE 

ANNUAL 
INCOME  FEE 

ANNUAL 
INCOME FEE 

ANNUAL 
INCOME FEE 

2 $0 -$58,839 $0.00 $58,840 - $117,679 $150.00 $117,680 - Over $200.00 

3 $0 - $74,119 $0.00 $74,120 - $148,239 $150.00 $148,240 - Over $200.00 

4 $0 - $89,399 $0.00 $89,400 - $178,799 $150.00 $178,800 - Over $200.00 

5 $0 - $104,679 $0.00 $104,680 - $209,359 $150.00 $209,360 - Over $200.00 

6 $0 - $119,959 $0.00 $119,960 - $239,919 $150.00 $239,920 - Over $200.00 

For family size larger than above see DDS website:  www.dds.ca.gov 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Please provide information below on other siblings receiving regional center services. 
 

Consumer’s Name RC # UCI # 

      

      

      

      

 
 

http://www.dds.ca.gov/
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