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An act to amend Section 4785 of the Welfare and Institutions Code, 

relating to developmental services. 



46368 
01129/13 05:48 PM 

RN 13 04902 PAGE 2 

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA DO ENACT AS FOLLOWS: 

SECTION 1. Section 4 785 of the Welfare and Institutions Code is amended to 

read: 

4785. (a) (I) Effective July 1, 2011, a regional center shall assess an annual 

family program fee, as described in subdivision (b), from parents whose adjusted gross 

family income is at or above 400 percent of the federal poverty level based upon family 

size and who have a child to whom all of the following apply: 

(A) The child has a developmental disability or is eligible for services under the 

California Early Intervention Services Act (Title 14 (commencing with Section 95000) 

of the Government Code). 

(B) The child is less than 18 years of age. 

(C) The child lives with his or her parent. 

(D) The child or family receives services beyond eligibility determination, needs 

assessment, and service coordination. 

(E) The child does not receive services through the Medi-Cal program. 

(2) An annual family program fee shall not be assessed or collected pursuant to 

this section if the child receives only respite, day care, or camping services from the 

regional center, and a cost for participation is assessed to the parents under the Family 

Cost Participation Program. 

(3) The annual family program fee shall be initially assessed by a regional center 

at the time of the development, scheduled review, or modification of the individual 

program plan (IPP) pursuant to Sections 4646 and 4646.5, or the individualized family 
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services plan (IFSP) pursuant to Section 95020 of the Government Code, but no later 

than June 30, 2012, and annually thereafter. 

( 4) Application of this section to children zero through two years of age, inclusive, 

shall be contingent upon necessary approval by the United States Department of 

Education. 

(b) ( 1) The annual family program fee for parents described in paragraph ( 1) of 

subdivision (a) shall be two hundred dollars ($200) per family, regardless of the number 

of children in the family with developmental disabilities or who are eligible for services 

under the California Early Intervention Services Act. 

(2) Notwithstanding paragraph (1), parents described in paragraph (1) of 

subdivision (a) who demonstrate to the regional center that their adjusted gross family 

income is less than 800 percent of the federal poverty level shall be required to pay an 

annual family program fee of one hundred fifty dollars ($150) per family, regardless 

of the number of children in the family with developmental disabilities or who are 

eligible for services under the California Early Intervention Services Act. 

(c) At the time of intake or at the time of development, scheduled review, or 

modification of a consumer's IPP or IFSP, but no later than June 30, 2012, the regional 

center shall provide to parents described in paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) a form and 

an envelope for the mailing of the annual family program fee to the department. The 

form, which shall include the name of the children in the family currently being served 

by a regional center and their unique client identifiers, shall be sent, with the family's 

annual program fee, to the department. 
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(d) The department shall notify each regional center at least quarterly of the 

annual family program fees collected. 

(e) The regional center shall, within 30 days after notification from the department 

pursuant to subdivision (d), provide a written notification to the parents from whom 

the department has not received the annual family program fees. Regional centers shall 

notify the department if a family receiving notification pursuant to this section has 

failed to pay its annual family program fees based on the subsequent notice pursuant 

to subdivision (d). For these families, the department shall pursue collection pursuant 

to the Accounts Receivable Management Act (Chapter 4.3 (commencing with Section 

16580) of Part 2 of Division 4 of Title 2 of the Government Code). 

(f) A regional center may grant an exemption to the assessment of an annual 

family program fee if the parents demonstrate any of the following: 

(1) That the exemption is necessary to maintain the child in the family home. 

(2) The existence of an extraordinary event that impacts the parents' ability to 

pay the fee or the parents' ability to meet the care and supervision needs of the child. 

(3) The existence of a catastrophic loss that temporarily limits the ability of the 

parents to pay and creates a direct economic impact on the family. For purposes of this 

paragraph, catastrophic loss may include, but is not limited to, natural disasters, 

accidents involving, or major injuries to, an immediate family member, and 

extraordinary medical expenses. 

(g) Services shall not be delayed or denied for a consumer or child based upon 

the lack of payment of the annual family program fee. 
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(h) For purposes of this section, "parents" means the parents, whether natural, 

adoptive, or both, of a child with developmental disabilities under 18 years of age. 

(i) Parents described in paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) shall be jointly and 

severally responsible for the annual family program fee, unless a court order directs 

otherwise. 

(j) ( 1) ''Total adjusted gross family income" means income acquired, earned, or 

received by parents as payment for labor or services, support, gift, or inheritance, or 

parents' return on investments. It also includes the community property interest of a 

parent in the gross adjusted income of a stepparent. 

(2) The total adjusted gross family income shall be determined by adding the 

gross income of both parents, regardless of whether they are divorced or legally 

separated, unless a court order directs otherwise, or unless the custodial parent certifies 

in writing that income information from the noncustodial parent cannot be obtained 

from the noncustodial parent and in this circumstance only the income of the custodial 

parent shall be used to determine the annual family program fee. 

(k) This seetioo shall beeome inoperath·e on: Jtme 30, 2013, and as ofJanttary 

1, 2014, is repealed, tmless a later en:aeted stattrte, that beeomes operative on or before 

Jtme 30, 2013, deletes or extends the dates on whieh it beeomes inoperative and is 

repealed. 
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LEGISLATNE COUNSEL'S DIGEST 

Bill No. 

as introduced, ---
General Subject: Developmental services: parental fee. 

The Lanterman Developmental Disabilities Services Act authorizes the State 

Department of Developmental Services to contract with regional centers to provide 

services and support to individuals with developmental disabilities. Existing law, until 

June 30, 2013, establishes a family program fee, as specified, for families with an 

adjusted gross family income, as defined, at or above 400% of the federal poverty level 

and who have a child meeting prescribed requirements, including receiving specified 

services from a regional center. 

This bill would extend the operation of these provisions indefinitely. 

Vote: majority. Appropriation: no. Fiscal committee: no. State-mandated local 

program: no. 
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