- Laws & Regulations
- Budget Information
- Facts & Stats
- DDS Forms
- Publications & Other Resources
- Public Records Requests
- Appeals, Complaints & Comments
- Small Business and Disabled Veterans Advocates
- Newsroom/Media Access
- Contact Us
Documents identified by PDF (Portable Document Format) requires the Adobe Acrobat Reader to be viewed and printed. If you do not already have the Adobe Reader, it can be downloaded for free from Adobe.
Minimum Wage Rate Adjustment, Effective January 1, 2017 - Submitting Requests to the Department
Due to the passage of Senate Bill (SB) 3, minimum wage in California will increase from $10.00 to $10.50 per hour, effective January 1, 2017, for employers with 26 or more employees. Regional center vendors affected by this change may be eligible to receive a rate adjustment in order to pay employees the new minimum wage. This page contains information for applicable vendors on submitting rate adjustment requests to the Department.
Who May Qualify?
The process for requesting a rate adjustment described on this page is only applicable to the following types of programs and services: Community-Based Day Programs, In-Home Respite Agencies, and Work Activity Programs. Vendors of other types of services should review the page linked below for more information on rate adjustments due to the increased minimum wage.
Before You Begin:
If you are a provider of the services identified above and you answer "Yes" to all questions below, this process applies to your program. If you answer "No" to all questions, visit the Rate Changes Due to the January 1, 2017, Minimum Wage Increase webpage for more information.
- Do you employ 26 or more employees?
- Is your program vendored by a regional center to provide services under service codes 505, 510, 515, 520, 525, 805, 862 and/or 954?
- Did you pay or are you paying employees less than $10.50 per hour or less than $11.31 per hour for In-Home Respite Agencies?
Instructions and Workbook:
The workbooks below should be used by applicable vendors to submit rate adjustment requests to the Department. Detailed instructions are contained in the tabs that precede the worksheets. Due to the respite worker wage enhancement authorized in Welfare and Institutions Code 4690.2(b)(2), there are two workbooks. One is for vendors of Community-Based Day Programs and Work Activity Programs, and the other is for In-Home Respite Agencies, as specified below. Rate adjustment requests must be submitted no later than March 1, 2017. Any rate adjustments approved will be effective January 1, 2017.
For Community-Based Day Programs and Work Activity Programs:
- 2017 Minimum Wage Rate Adjustment Request Workbook - Community-Based Day and Work Activity Programs (MS Excel)
For In-Home Respite Agencies:
California Department of Developmental Services
Rates and Fiscal Support Section
Phone: (916) 654-2300