- Laws & Regulations
- Budget Information
- Facts & Stats
- DDS Forms
- Publications & Other Resources
- Public Records Requests
- Appeals, Complaints & Comments
- Small Business and Disabled Veterans Advocates
- Newsroom/Media Access
- Contact Us
Documents identified by PDF (Portable Document Format) requires the Adobe Acrobat Reader to be viewed and printed. If you do not already have the Adobe Reader, it can be downloaded for free from Adobe.
Parental Fee Program
The Parental Fee Program (PFP) assesses a fee to parents of children under the age of 18 who receive 24-hour out-of-home services purchased with State funds or through a regional center.
Parents are required to pay a parental fee based on their ability to pay. The fee is determined using a Parental Fee Schedule established by the Department of Developmental Services under the provisions of Title 17, Subchapter 2, of the California Code of Regulations. The statutory authority for financial responsibility is in the Welfare and Institutions Code, Sections 4677, 4782 and 4784. Fees are scaled to gross annual family income, the number of persons dependent on the income, and the age of the child in placement.
All parental fees collected are remitted to the State Treasury for deposit in the Developmental Disabilities Program Developmental Fund. Fees collected are deposited into the Program Development Fund to provide resources needed to initiate new programs, consistent with approved priorities for program development in the state plan.
Parental Fee Program Guide
Family Financial Statement (DS 1235)
The Family Financial Statement is used to assess fees paid by parents for minors receiving regional center services. The form requests certain information from both parents and/or domestic partners including gross monthly income. The authority for domestic partners is in the California Family Code, Sections 297-297.5. Available in English | Spanish
PARENTAL FEE APPEALS (DS 1212)
Parents who are dissatisfied with the decision as to the determination of ability to pay and/or the amount of their fee may, within 30 days of receipt of the parental fee confirmation letter, request an appeal of the determination or the amount of the fee by submitting the Request for Appeal. This appeal must be completed and returned to the department no later than 30 days from the date of the letter announcing the assessed fee. All appeals must be mailed to: Department of Developmental Services; Client Financial Services Section, Parental Fee Program; P.O. Box 944202; Sacramento, CA 94244-2020. Available in English | Spanish
Parental Fee Program Home Leave Credits (DS 1214)
Home Leave Credits form must be submitted by parents who wish to receive daily credit for qualified home visits with the child in placement. Parents must return the completed form for credit to: Department of Developmental Services; Client Financial Services Section, Parental Fee Program; P.O. Box 944202; Sacramento, CA 94244-2020. Home Leave Credits must be post marked no later than 60 days from the date of the qualified home visit to be approved. A qualified visit must be at least 6 consecutive hours during a 24 hour period. Available in English | Spanish
PAYING YOUR MONTHLY FEE WITH A CREDIT CARD
If you want to make a payment by credit card, you can contact us at (800) 862-0007, Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. to make a payment over the phone.
Contact InformationDepartment of Developmental Services
Client Financial Services Section
Phone: (916) 654-3319
Toll Free: (800) 862-0007
TDD: (916) 654-2054 (For the Hearing Impaired)