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659 Annual Family Program Fee 

SECTION 1.  Section 4785 is added to the Welfare and Institutions Code to read: 

(a)(1) Effective July 1, 2011, a regional center shall assess an annual family program 
fee, as described in subdivision (b), from parents whose adjusted gross family income is 
at or above 400 percent of the federal poverty level based upon family size and who 
have a child to whom all of the following applies: 
 
(A) The child has a developmental disability or is eligible for services under the California 
Early Intervention Services Act (Title 14 (commencing with Section 95000) of the 
Government Code). 
 
(B) The child is under age 18. 
 
(C) The child lives with his or her parent. 
 
(D) The child or family receives services beyond eligibility determination, needs 
assessment, and service coordination. 
 
(E) The child does not receive services through the Medi-Cal program. 
 
(2) An annual family program fee shall not be assessed or collected if the child receives 
only respite, day care, and/or camping services from the regional center, and a cost for 
participation is assessed to the parents under the Family Cost Participation Program. 
 
(3) The annual family program fee shall be initially assessed by a regional center at the 
time of the development, scheduled review, or modification of the individual program 
plan pursuant to sections 4646 and 4646.5 or the individualized family services plan 
pursuant to Government Code section 95020, but no later than June 30, 2012, and 
annually thereafter. 
 
(4) Application of this section to children zero through two years of age, inclusive, shall 
be contingent upon any necessary approval by the United States Department of 
Education. 
 
(b)(1) The annual family program fee for parents described in subdivision (a)(1) shall be 
$200 per family, regardless of the number of children in the family with developmental 
disabilities or who are eligible for services under the California Early Intervention 
Services Act.    
 
(2) Notwithstanding subdivision (b)(1), parents described in subdivision (a)(1) who 
demonstrate to the regional center that their adjusted gross family income is less than 
800% of the federal poverty level shall be required to pay an annual family program fee 
of $150 per family, regardless of the number of children in the family with developmental 
disabilities or who are eligible for services under the California Early Intervention 
Services Act.  
 
(c) At the time of intake or at the time of development, scheduled review, or modification 
of a consumer’s individual program plan developed pursuant to Sections 4646 and 
4646.5, or of an individualized family service plan pursuant to Section 95020 of the 
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Government Code, but no later than June 30, 2012, the regional center shall provide to 
parents described in subdivision (a)(1) a form and an envelope for the mailing of the 
annual family program fee to the department .  The form, which shall include the name of 
any children in the family currently served by a regional center and their unique client 
identifier(s), shall be sent, with the family’s annual program fee to the department.  
 
(d) The department shall notify each regional center at least quarterly of the annual 
family program fees collected.   
 
(e)  The regional center shall, within 30 days after notification from the department 
pursuant to subsection (d), provide a written notification to the parents from whom the 
department has not received the annual family program fees.   Regional centers shall 
notify the department if any family fails to pay its annual family program fees within 30 
days after the regional center notification to the family pursuant to this subsection.  For 
these families, the department shall pursue collection pursuant to The Accounts 
Receivable Management Act (Gov. Code, § 16580 et seq.). 
 
(f) A regional center may grant an exemption to the assessment of an annual family 
program fee if the parents demonstrate: 
 

(1) that the exemption is necessary to maintain the child in the family home; 
(2) the existence of an extraordinary event that impacts the parents’ ability to pay 

the fee or the parents’ ability to meet the care and supervision needs of the 
child; or 

(3) the existence of a catastrophic loss that temporarily limits the ability of the 
parents to pay and creates a direct economic impact on the family.  For 
purposes of this subdivision, catastrophic losses may include, but are not limited 
to:  natural disasters, accidents involving or major injuries to an immediate family 
member and extraordinary medical expenses.  

 
(g) No services shall be delayed or denied for any consumer or child based upon the 
lack of payment of the annual family program fee. 
 
(h)  For purposes of this section, “parents” means the natural or adoptive parents, or 
either of them, of a child with developmental disabilities under 18 years of age. 
 
(i) Parents described in subdivision (a)(1) shall be jointly and severally responsible for 
the annual family program fee, unless a court order directs otherwise. 
 
(j) The total adjusted gross family income: 
 

(1) is defined as any income acquired, earned, or received by parents as 
payment for labor or services, support, gift or inheritance, or parents’ return on 
investments.  It shall also include the community property interest of a parent in the 
gross adjusted income of a stepparent. 

(2) The total adjusted gross family income shall be determined by adding the 
gross income of both parents, regardless of whether they are divorced or legally 
separated, unless: 
 

(1) a court order directs otherwise; or 
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(2) The custodial parent certifies in writing that income information from the non-
custodial parent cannot be obtained from the non-custodial parent. In this 
circumstance, only the income of the custodial parent shall be used to 
determine the annual family program fee in such an instance. 

 
SEC. 2.  This act is an urgency statute necessary for the immediate preservation of the 
public peace, health, or safety within the meaning of Article IV of the Constitution and 
shall go into immediate effect. The facts constituting the necessity are:  

In order to make changes necessary for implementation of the Budget Act of 
2011, it is necessary that this act take effect immediately.  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


