Welcome to the California Department of Developmental Services

Quick Links

DDS YouTube Channel  DDS Twitter Page
Be Prepared California
Get Free Adobe PDF Reader

Documents identified by PDF (Portable Document Format) requires the Adobe Acrobat Reader to be viewed and printed. If you do not already have the Adobe Reader, it can be downloaded for free from Adobe.

Rate Changes as a Result of ABX2-1 and the State Budget

Draft Provider Survey

As noted below, due the enactment of Assembly Bill (AB) X2-1, many regional center service providers received rate increases, effective July 1, 2016, for the purpose of enhancing wages and benefits for staff who spend at least 75 percent of their time providing direct services to consumers. This statute includes a requirement for the Department, with regional center participation, to survey all providers who received a rate increase. The survey must be returned by October 1, 2017 or providers will forfeit the rate increase.

As explained in the Department's May 1, 2017 letter, the Department is seeking comment on the draft version of the survey (available below.) Comments and questions can be emailed to VendorSurvey@dds.ca.gov. Additionally, webinars/conference calls to review the draft survey have been scheduled for the dates below. If you would like to participate, please follow the link on the date of your choice for instructions.

IMPORTANT NOTE: Providers are not required to complete and return the survey at this time. The Department is planning to release a final version of the survey on June 1, 2017.

WEBINAR/CONFERENCE CALL INFORMATION

  • Friday, May 5, 2017 at 2:00 PM

  • Wednesday, May 10, 2017 at 9:00 AM NOTE: Due to technical difficulties, we had to postpone this webinar. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

  • Wednesday, May 17, 2017 at 9:00 AM. The call-in number for this webinar/conference call is 800-288-8960. Register for the webinar New, updated content!

  • Thursday, May 18, 2017 at 3:00 PM. The call-in number for this webinar/conference call is 800-230-1093. Register for the webinar New, updated content!

Registration is not required to participate in the conference calls.

DRAFT SURVEY

 

New Provider Rates Effective July 1, 2016

The following is information on the rate changes for vendors affected by the enactment of Assembly Bill (AB) X2-1 and the State Budget. The rate changes will be effective July 1, 2016. For specific information on the vendor rate changes, including how rates were adjusted and which vendors are affected, please see the Department's letter mailed to regional centers on June 24, 2016.

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

New Rates Set by the Department:

Rates Set through Negotiation Between Regional Centers and Vendors

Rates Set in Regulation:

  • Respite under Service Codes 420, 465, and 864 - The new rate is $15.23 per hour.
  • Financial Management Services, FEA - Service Code 490 - The maximum rates are $45.88, $71.37, or $96.86 per month.
  • Financial Management Services, Co-Employer - Service Code 491 - The maximum rate is $96.86 per month.
  • Participant-Directed Community-Based Training Services Service Code 475 - The rate is $14.99 per hour.
  • Non-Mobile Supplemental Staffing - The supplemental rate for Community-Based Day Programs will increase to $1.34 per hour.

Where Can I Get More Information?

Please visit the Survey to Determine Provider Rate Increases webpage for information on the process for determining rate increases due to ABX2-1.

Contact Information:

Contact your local Regional Center; OR,

The Department of Developmental Services:

Non-Residential Rates: (916) 654-2300

Residential Rates: (916) 654-2140

 
 
Last Updated: 5/11/2017