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Professional Requirements 
 
DDS and CDE share the responsibility for ensuring that all personnel under California's 
Early Start Program meet the current qualifications in statute, regulations, and policy.   
 
The following table details the requirements applicable to practice a discipline in 
California for the positions listed.  
 

 
Requirements for Positions  
 
Audiologist 

 
State licensure and national certification in Audiology are required.  
Examination is conducted by the Speech Pathology and Audiology 
Examination Committee, Board of Medical Quality Assurance, 
Department of Consumer Affairs.  Eligibility for licensure is based on 
the following qualifications: 
1)  Master's degree in audiology from a committee-approved 
educational institution. 
 

 
Family Therapist 

 
To practice as a Family Therapist licensure is required through the 
Board of Behavioral Science Examiners, Department of Consumer 
Affairs.  Eligibility for licensure includes: 
1)  Possession of a Doctors or Master's degree in marriage, family 
and child psychology, counseling with an emphasis in marriage, 
family, and child counseling or social work with an emphasis in 
clinical social work obtained from an accredited school, college, or 
university and the appropriate license as required by the discipline.  
A Licensed Clinical Social Worker can also practice as a family 
therapist. 
 
To practice as a Marriage, Family and Child Counselor licensure is 
required, as stated above, plus 
2)  Completion of an approved program of no less than 48 
semester/72 quarter units to include no less than 12 semester/18 
quarter units of course work in the areas of marriage, family, and 
child counseling and marital and family systems approaches to 
treatment. 
3)  Completion of no less than six semester/nine quarter units of 
supervised practicum within the program. 
4)  Completion of additional course work to include: two 
semester/three quarter units in California law and professional ethics 
for marriage, family and child counselors; seven contact hours of 
training or course work in human sexuality, and completion of 
specific instruction in alcoholism and other chemical substance 
dependency. 
5)  3,000 hours of supervised clinical experience, at least 1,500 of 
which must be completed post-masters. 

 
Infant 
Development 
Program Service 
Provider 

 
Infant development programs are vendored by regional centers.  
Vendors must meet the following personnel qualifications/standards 
contained in Title 17 California Code of Regulations, §§ 56710, 
56722, 56724 and 56760 - 56774: 
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(1)  The director of an infant development program shall possess the 
following minimum qualifications: 

(a)  A bachelor's degree and minimum of 18 months of 
experience in the management of a human services delivery 
system; or 
(b)  Five years of experience in a human services delivery 
system, including at least two years in a management or 
supervisory position. 

(2)  The supervisor of an infant development program shall possess 
the following minimum qualifications: 

(a)  Three years of experience in a human services delivery 
system, including at least one year in a comparable program or 
a bachelor's degree in child development, early childhood 
education, developmental disability education, or a closely 
related child-focused specialty; and 
(b)  The demonstrated ability to provide staff training, 
supervision and planning. 

(3) The vendor/service provider must also maintain written job 
descriptions and define minimum qualifications for all positions.  
Direct care staff shall possess the education and experience 
required in the job description and the ability to perform the functions 
required in the program design. 

 
Nurse 

 
To practice as a registered nurse, licensure by the Board of 
Registered Nursing, Department of Consumer Affairs; is required.  
Requirements include: 
1)  successful completion of an approved course of study in an 
accredited school of nursing including 58 semester units of course 
work and supervised clinical experience;  2)  successful completion 
of the written Board approved examination; 
3)  verification of ongoing continuing education for license renewal. 
  
To practice as a school nurse, an individual must hold a School 
Nurse Services Credential.  Requirements include: 
1)  Completion of a B.A. degree from a accredited college or 
university; 
2)  Completion of commission-approved school nurse program of 30-
45 units of post-graduate work; 
3)  Completion of 2 years, or equivalent, of full time successful 
experience as a school nurse. 
 
Various levels of preparation are found in nurses providing early 
intervention services ranging from the generalists (baccalaureate 
degree) to clinical specialists (Masters or Doctorate).   
  

 
Nutritionist 

 
California does not have state licensure/registration in order to 
practice dietetics.  However, the California Business and Professions 
Code identify qualifications for the use of the title "dietitian".  
Currently, dietitians are registered through the Commission on 
Dietetic Registration, the credentialing agency for the American 
Dietetic Association.  The dietitian receives the designation of 
Registered Dietitian.  Eligibility for registration includes: 
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1) A minimum of a B.A. degree from a U.S. regionally accredited 
college or university; 
2) Completion of an ADA approved practical, supervised training in 
an accredited institution; 
3) Successful completion of the CDR national Competency exami-
nation, and  
4) Completion of ongoing continuing education Requirements for 
renewal of registration. 

 
Occupational 
Therapist 

 
California does not have state licensure/registration in the field of 
occupational therapy.  However, the California Business and 
Professions Code identifies qualifications for the use of the titles of 
"occupational therapist" and defines qualifications as those 
prescribed by the regulations of the state department governing 
reimbursement of such services.  Registration is granted through 
The American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA).  To 
become a registered Occupational Therapist (OTR) an individual 
must have: 
1) Graduated from an accredited occupational therapist education 
program and have successfully completed all therapist level 
fieldwork required by the educational program. 
2) Pass the National Registration Exam administered by the AOTA. 

 
Orientation and 
Mobility Specialist 

 
Orientation and Mobility Specialists are required to hold a Clinical 
Rehabilitative Services Credential in orientation and mobility is 
required.  Credentials are issued by the Commission on Teacher 
Credentialing. Credentialing is conducted by the Commission on 
Teacher Credentialing.  Requirements include:  
(1) Completion of a regionally accredited college or university; 
(2) Completion of a professional preparation program including 
internship; and 
(3) Completion of a fifth year of study after the B.A. in an approved 
California teacher preparation institution.  

 
Primary Care 
Physicians  

 
General Practitioners are licensure as a Doctor of Medicine by the 
Board of Quality Medical Assurance; Department of Consumer 
Affairs is required.  The license is called a physician’s and surgeon’s 
certificate.  To qualify for the certificate, the applicant must have: 
1) A diploma issued by an approved medical school; and 
2) Successfully completed at least one year of postgraduate training, 
which includes at least four months of general medicine, in an 
approved postgraduate training program. 
 
Specialist, such as general pediatricians or family physicians , are 
required to complete three years residencies in pediatrics or family 
practice in an accredited training program after the receiving the 
M.D.   
 
Board certified pediatricians must have demonstrated competency 
by completion of the certification examination of the American Board 
of Pediatrics.  Additionally, board certified physicians may acquire 
additional fellowship training in other sub-specialties. 
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Physical Therapy 

 
Licensure in California is required and is conducted by the Division of 
Allied Health Professions of the Board of Medical Quality Assurance, 
Department of Consumer Affairs.  A licensed physical therapist may 
use the letters, L.P.T., R.P.T., or P.T..  To be eligible for licensure, 
the individual must have: 
1) completed a minimum of four years of post secondary education 
in an accredited institution or institutions.  The professional education 
shall have been full time, from a Committee approved program and 
the equivalent of not less than 1400 hours. 
   

 
Psychologist 

 
Various levels of practice and types of roles exist for individuals 
providing psychological services in the State of California.  The 
predominant types of professionals involved in early intervention 
services are discussed.  
 
To practice as a School Psychologist, an individual must have: 
1) Completed a Bachelor's degree from an accredited college or 
university; 
2) Completed at least 60 semester hours in school psychology from 
an accredited program; 
3) possession of a pupil personnel services credential with a school 
psychology endorsement 
 
To practice as a Psychologists, an individual must have: 
1)  Completed of a doctorate in psychology, in education psychology, 
or in education with a specialization in counseling psychology or 
education psychology, or a doctorate deemed equivalent by the 
committee, from an accredited or approved university, college, 
professional school, or any other approved educational institution. 
2)  licensure through the California Board of Medical Quality 
Assurance, Department of Consumer Affairs. 
  
To practice as a Licensed Educational Psychologists, an individual 
must have: 
1) Completed at least a master's degree in psychology, educational 
psychology, school psychology, or counseling and guidance, or 
degree deemed equivalent by the board;  
2) Completed 60 semester hours of postgraduate work devoted to 
pupil personnel services or have equivalent experience; and 
3)  Licensure through the Board of Behavioral Sciences, Department 
of Consumer Affairs. 
 
To practice as a Developmental Psychologist, and individual must 
have: 
1)  Possession of at least a master's or doctoral degree  in 
developmental psychology from an accredited college or university. 

 
Social Worker 

 
To practice as a Social Worker, an individual must have a Master's in 
Social Work (MSW) from a graduate school of social work accredited 
by the Council on Social Work Education.  To practice as a School 
Social Worker, an individual must have completed a Master's Degree 
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in social work and hold a Pupil Personnel Services (PPS) Credential 
with a School Social Work Specialization. 
 
Eligibility for licensure as a Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) 
requires a master's degree in social work (MSW) from an accredited 
school of social work; completion of 3,200 hours of supervised post-
masters clinical experience in not less than 24 months; 7 hours of 
training in child abuse reporting; 10 hours of training on human 
sexuality; and 15 hours of training on alcoholism and other chemical 
substance dependencies. 

 
Speech and Lan-
guage Pathologist 

 
State licensure and national certification are required and 
examination is conducted by the Speech Pathology and Audiology 
Examination Committee, Board of Medical Quality Assurance.  
Eligibility for licensure is made on the basis of the following 
qualifications: 
(1) Masters degree in speech pathology from a committee approved 
educational institution. 
(2) Approved clinical experience. 

 
Special 
Educator/special 
Education 
Teachers* 

 
Special education teachers are required to hold a California Special 
Education Specialist Instruction Credential and a valid California 
teaching credential. Credentialing is conducted by the Commission 
on Teacher Credentialing.  Requirements include:  
(1) Completion of a BA from a regionally accredited college or 
university; 
(2) Completion of a professional preparation program during a fifth 
year of study in an approved California teacher preparation 
institution; 
(3) Other standards established by the CTC to assure that teachers 
have sufficient knowledge of subject matter that is the core of the 
California public school curriculum and experience with non-special 
education pupils. 
 
Special Educators providing services to low incidence populations 
must also hold the following specialist credentials: 
(1) Teacher of Deaf and Hard of Hearing--Specialist Credential in 
Deaf/hard of hearing; or 
(2) Teacher of Visually Handicapped--Specialist Credential in visual 
handicapped; or 
(3) Teacher of Orthopedically Handicapped--Specialist Credential in 
orthopedically handicaps. 
* Early Childhood Special Education (ECSE) Credential 
Effective July 1999, personnel [obtaining a credential] will have to 
meet the new Standards of Quality and Effectiveness for Education 
Specialists Credential Programs, including the requirements for Early 
Childhood Special Education Credentials.  Early childhood special 
education includes the provision of educational services to children 
from birth through pre-kindergarten who are eligible for early 
intervention, special education, and/or related services [from a local 
educational agency] under federal and state laws.  Children with a 
primary [or solely low incidence] disability of deafness or hearing 
impairment, deaf-blindness, visual impairment including blindness, or 
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orthopedic impairment must be served by a [special education] 
professional holding the authorization specific to the low incidence 
disability. 
Early Childhood Special Education Certificate 
In addition to these credentials, a certificate program in Early 
Childhood Special Education will be available for holders of the 
Education Specialist Instruction Credentials in Mild/Moderate 
Disabilities and Moderate/Severe Disabilities, to be able to expand 
the authorization to include birth through Pre Kindergarten.  The 
ECSE Certificate could be completed after Level II requirements for 
a specialist credential have been met, if desired [not required]. 

 
This professional list is not all inclusive. There are many opportunities for those that are 
Music Therapists, Art Therapists, Behavorialists, Language Interpreters, and others in 
related fields. For more information on the vendor requirements visit California Code of 
Regulations, Title 17, Chapter 3, Subchapter 2, Section 54300. 
http://www.dds.ca.gov/Title17/T17SectionTOC.cfm?SubchapterID=16  
 
To find more information on career opportunities in early intervention that relates to your 
discipline, contact your local regional center or local education agency. 
http://www.dds.ca.gov/EarlyStart/PDF/central_directory2006.pdf 
 


