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September 26, 2025 G-2025-Early Start-001 
 
 
 
TO:  REGIONAL CENTER EXECUTIVE DIRECTORS 
 
SUBJECT: PROVIDERS OF SPEECH AND LANGUAGE SERVICES IN 
 EARLY START 
 
This letter provides guidance to regional centers regarding qualified providers of speech 
and language services in the Early Start program specifically Speech-Language 
Pathologists (SLP) in Clinical Fellowship (SLP-CF) who hold a Required Professional 
Experience (RPE) license and Speech-Language Pathology Assistants (SLPA).  This 
letter also clarifies applicable reimbursement rates for these service providers as 
originally discussed in the Department’s November 19, 2024 directive. 
 
Regulatory Requirements 
Current regulations require vendored providers of speech and language services, 
typically vendored under Early Start Specialized Therapeutic Services (service code 
116), Infant Development Program (service code 805), or Speech Pathology (service 
code 707) to possess the license, certification and/or credential required by the State of 
California to practice in the field of service being offered. 
 
A vendored 116, 805 or 707 provider may employ SLPs who are RPE license holders 
and SLPAs.  These professionals must meet specified Title 17 regulations to provide 
speech and language services to an infant or toddler subject to supervision 
requirements specified in their license.  Regional centers shall allow these service 
providers to provide services in the Early Start Program. 
 
Speech-Language Pathologists in Clinical Fellowship with Required Professional 
Experience 
SLPs in a Clinical Fellowship (CF)* are professionals holding a master’s degree and a 
Required Professional Experience temporary license issued by the California Speech-
Language Pathology & Audiology & Hearing Aid Dispensers Board.  When employed by 
a vendored regional center provider, SLP-CFs who hold a RPE temporary license may 
provide the full range of speech and language pathology services which includes 
conducting evaluations, treatment planning, and therapy for various communication 
disorders. 
 

 
*The CF corresponds to the optional Clinical Fellowship certification awarded by the national certifying 
body, American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA). 

https://www.dds.ca.gov/wp-content/uploads/2024/11/D-2024-Rate_Reform_Implementation_for_Early_Start_and_Infant_Development.pdf
https://govt.westlaw.com/calregs/Document/ID2104E235A2011EC8227000D3A7C4BC3?viewType=FullText&listSource=Search&originationContext=Search+Result&transitionType=SearchItem&contextData=(sc.Search)&navigationPath=Search%2fv1%2fresults%2fnavigation%2fi0a89b4120000019852448599b024f45e%3fppcid%3d88732761160b4e93aae52bb1d484640c%26Nav%3dREGULATION_PUBLICVIEW%26fragmentIdentifier%3dID2104E235A2011EC8227000D3A7C4BC3%26startIndex%3d1%26transitionType%3dSearchItem%26contextData%3d%2528sc.Default%2529%26originationContext%3dSearch%2520Result&list=REGULATION_PUBLICVIEW&rank=1&t_T1=17&t_T2=54342&t_S1=CA+ADC+s
https://govt.westlaw.com/calregs/Document/IEC8CB7E34C8111EC89E5000D3A7C4BC3?viewType=FullText&originationContext=documenttoc&transitionType=CategoryPageItem&contextData=(sc.Default)
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Regional Centers shall allow the use of SLP RPE license-holders, who may be referred 
to as clinical fellows or CFs, as providers of Early Start speech and language services, 
ensuring compliance with California’s licensure standards and acknowledging their 
comprehensive training as qualified speech-language pathologists. 
 
Speech-Language Pathology Assistants 
SLPAs are state-licensed assistants who possess at least a two-year degree in speech 
and communication disorders. They can provide services directly to infants or toddlers 
following SLP-developed goals and treatment plans. SLPAs can provide the service 
independently with indirect supervision (i.e., not at the same facility as, or in close 
proximity from the supervising SLP) in accordance with California’s licensing 
regulations. An SLPA license does not permit the holder to conduct client evaluations. 
 
In 2019, Cal. Code Regs. Tit. 17, Sections 54319 & 54342 were amended to allow 
SLPAs to provide Early Start services.  Recent regulatory changes further allow SLPAs 
to receive supervision through electronic means and added corresponding new 
requirements to the supervising SLPs. 
 
Rates 
SLP-CFs who hold an RPE license will align to the Specialized Therapeutic Services 
Professional rate under service code 116, or to the Speech/Language Pathologist 
subcode under service code 805.  Please reference D-2024-Rate Reform-003 
Attachment C, for the subcode and rate category assignments for this service. 
 
Regional center staff are encouraged to review their current policies and practices to 
ensure compliance with these guidelines.  Continued recognition of SLP-CFs with RPE 
licenses and SLPAs as qualified speech and language service providers in Early Start is 
expected to help promote infant/toddlers’ access to timely and high-quality services. 
 
For Early Start program questions, regional centers may contact earlystart@dds.ca.gov.  
For questions on rates or vendorization, please contact ratesquestions@dds.ca.gov. 
 
Sincerely, 
 
Original Signed by: 
 
MARICRIS ACON 
Deputy Director 
Children, Adolescents, and Young Adult Services Division 
 
cc: Regional Center Administrators 
 Regional Center Directors of Consumer Services 
 Regional Center Community Services Directors 
 Association of Regional Center Agencies 

https://govt.westlaw.com/calregs/Document/IEDC81E134C8111EC89E5000D3A7C4BC3?viewType=FullText&originationContext=documenttoc&transitionType=CategoryPageItem&contextData=(sc.Default)#co_anchor_I9E46A4A06C1B11EDA483F5C63985A20E
https://www.dds.ca.gov/wp-content/uploads/2019/06/speechPathologyNoticeOfApproval.pdf
https://www.speechandhearing.ca.gov/board_activity/lawsregs/slpa_supervision_requirements.shtml
https://www.dds.ca.gov/wp-content/uploads/2025/08/D-2024-RateReform-003_REV2_AttachmentC.pdf
https://www.dds.ca.gov/wp-content/uploads/2025/08/D-2024-RateReform-003_REV2_AttachmentC.pdf
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