Welcome to the California Department of Developmental Services

Quick Links

DDS YouTube Channel  DDS Twitter Page
Be Prepared California

There have been 13,526,294 visitors to this page since the start of this site on July 1, 1996. You are visitor number 228 today.
Sonoma Developmental Center's Ground

Photo provided by
Sonoma Developmental Center

Welcome to DDS

The California Department of Developmental Services is the agency through which the State of California provides services and supports to individuals with developmental disabilities.

These disabilities include intellectual disability, cerebral palsy, epilepsy, autism and related conditions. Services are provided through state-operated developmental centers and community facilities, and contracts with 21 nonprofit regional centers. The regional centers serve as a local resource to help find and access the services and supports available to individuals with developmental disabilities and their families.


Annual Part C Grant Application
The Department of Developmental Services (DDS), as lead agency for Individuals With Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), Part C, is providing the public the opportunity to review and comment on California's draft IDEA, Part C grant application for 2015 federal early intervention funds.
DDS Fact Book - Twelfth Edition
The DDS Fact Book offers a look at the demographics and characteristics of individuals served by DDS.
CMS Home and Community-Based Services Regulations
Information on the federal Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services regulations for Home and Community-Based Services.

Important Information